The last day

I know I haven’t posted in a while but this is a big day.  Huge.  Ginormous.  Gigantisaurus.  You get the picture.  It is a day that was twelve years in the making.  For a guy who can’t sit through the first ten minutes of Up, I’m surprisingly non-emotional about the whole thing.  All I feel is immense pride.  Dude wrote his final high school exam today and even though the results will only be available in a month from now, I know that it was his last day of high school. SHIT!

fb_img_15432520370117035663065321903491.jpg

Dashing like his father

Maybe I am slightly emotional. Give me a minute.

*Returning a day later with red eyes and thirty seven empty tissue boxes and a desperate need for a plumber.  Too much tissues can result in clogging.  Who knew?*

Dude, I have written countless posts on what you mean to us and how you’ve changed our lives. Technically you would be able to count them but it sounds more affectionate if I create the impression that there were more than ten posts about you.  The general theme has always been about how great you turned out because of our excellent parenting skills.  And the grace of God.

Jokes aside.  Looking at you, I’m astonished at what you have accomplished in such a short time you’ve been on this planet.  Your high school career is a testimony to that.  You’ve overcome challenges, made friends and broke hearts.  Albeit mine.  This was an hectic year.  You turned legal, you got your driver’s license, you attended prom, you finished high school… Eighteen must seem like such a big number to you but believe me, this is only the beginning.  You have reach the end of this chapter and now you stand on the brink of a new one.  It feels like yesterday when I wrote a post about high school and now you’re going off to university. WTF!

It’s painful to think that you would be leaving our nest soon and the thought of not having you sharing daily clips and hugs and stories is pretty daunting.  Thankfully you’re not there yet and we can keep all that emotion for another post.  This post is simply a celebration at the end of an era.  I must admit, I tried my best to bribe the headmaster in an attempt to keep you for another year but she’s a tough cookie and in the end we simply couldn’t afford her final number.  What did you do?

Dude, you are one amazing human being.   Words fail me every time.  The best son any parent could hope for.  We couldn’t be more proud even if we tried.  The hard work is done, so go and enjoy that last holiday with all your mates.  Have fun and stay safe.

Fortunately I still have a couple of weeks to torture you with parental stuff.

Love ya.

13 thoughts on “The last day

  1. Ons as Oupa en Ouma is ongelooflik trots op die jong man wat hy geword het. Ons gaan hom ongelooflik mis volgende jaar, maar dit is hoe die lewe is, en ons gun hom die lekker nuwe fase van student wees.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jy het dit so mooi geskryf! Mens kan agterkom jy is hartseer en tog baie trots. Hy is so ‘n mooi seun en klink of hy ‘n baie opvoeding gekry het. Alles wat mooi is vir sy toekoms en sterkte vir jou met die volgende fase van sy lewe. Dit gaan nog vinniger verby as skool!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats to both. It’s a tough stint – parenting – and one that doesn’t end. Our milestone this week was Little Guy turning 13. On his birthday he was still my excited, sweet son. The day after he woke up surly and full of attitude. Big Guy moved out almost 10 years ago and I still cry sometimes when he leaves. You’ll get better at hiding it…maybe… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I won't bite, I promise...